Former Philippine President Corazon “Cory” C. Aquino passed away today August 1, 2009 exactly 3:18 AM (GMT +8) at Makati Medical Center. She was 76 years old. This is a shocking news to every Filipino all over the world.

Right now, her body is in Heritage Park. There would , however , be no public viewing in heritage. Her body will be transported to La Salle Greenhills near the EDSA shrine where the famous 1986 People Power occured.  Public viewing at the wake of former president Corazon Aquino will start at 5 p.m inside the La Salle Greenhills Gym.


Aquino was diagnosed with colon cancer last March 2008. She had chemotherapy and underwent surgery a month later. She returned to hospital confinement last June 25, 2009 due to continued loss of appetite caused by fluid buildup in her stomach. Doctors had strongly advised to keep the former President in her hospital room so she could get immediate medical attention after her cancer spread from her colon to the liver, said Noynoy. Aquino’s weakened state made it impossible for her to undergo further chemotherapy.

After a long brave battle with colon cancer, she died.  Farewell Cory. You are truly a hero.

Cory Aquino , being a Former President , will receive full military honors. A “valley of fire” will be heard , 8 canon shots every hour.  Flags around the Philippines specially in military camps have to raise their flag halfway up the pole ( Half-staff or half-mast ) as a symbol of respect, mourning, or distress.

She will also be given a 21 gun salute. Also , and a satin flag will be placed on top of Former President Aquino’s casket. Civil guards (”ceremonial guards”) will be stationed at the wake of the President.

Related Articles :
Cory Aquino passes away today: August 1, 2009

Related Posts :
Cory Aquino Wake and Memorial Service Schedules
Live streaming coverage Cory Aquino burial
Cory Aquino passed away today: August 1, 2009
Corazon “Cory” Aquino’s August 5 burial & funeral -a special non-working holiday
Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III – Talambuhay Buod sa Tagalog Filipino Pangulo ng Pilipinas